Machado, Sandy and Julio finalists for the MLB awards

The Major Leagues or MLB (for its acronym in English) announced the finalists for the prizes awarded by the Baseball Writers Association (BBWA), among which are three Dominicans.

Through an announcement made on a television program through the MLB Network; It was reported that the third baseman of the San Diego Padres, Manny Machado they are among the finalists for the Most Valuable Player or National League MVP award along with fellow St. Louis Cardinals third baseman Nolan Arenado and fellow Cardinals first baseman Paul Goldschmidt.

Machado is coming off hitting .298 with 32 home runs and 102 RBIs, while helping the Padres reach their league Championship Series against the Philadelphia Phillies.

Same in the National League, it was revealed that the Miami Marlins pitcher Sandy Alcantara He was among the finalists for the Cy Young Award along with Atlanta Braves left-hander Max Fried and Los Angeles Dodgers Mexican Julio Urias.

The Marlins’ ace went 14 and 9 with a 2.28 ERA while leading the majors with 228 and two-thirds innings pitched.

Already in the American League, Julius Rodriguez, center fielder for the Seattle Mariners, was among the finalists for Rookie of the Year along with Cleveland Guardians left fielder Steven Kwan and Baltimore Orioles wide receiver Adley Rutschman.

Julio is coming off a .284 batting average with 28 home runs and 25 stolen bases, while becoming the leadoff hitter for the Mariners’ team that broke the 21-year playoff streak.

The rest of the finalists

American League MVP

Yordan Alvarez, DH/LF Houston Astros

Shohei Ohtani, LA/BD Los Angeles Angels

Aaron Judge, CF/RF New York Yankees

American League Cy Young

Dylan Cease Chicago White Sox

Alek Manoah Toronto Blue Jays

Justin VerlanderHouston Astros

American League Manager of the Year

Brandon HydeBaltimore Orioles

Scott Servais Seattle Mariners

Terry Francona Cleveland Guardians

National League MVP

Brendan Donovan, UTL St. Louis Cardinals

Michael Harris, CF Atlanta Braves

Spencer Strider, LA Atlanta Braves

National League Manager of the Year

Dave Roberts, Los Angeles Dodgers

Buck Sholwater, New York Mets

Brian Stnitker, Atlanta Braves

The winners of each award in each circuit will be announced next week, beginning each day at 7:00 p.m. on MLB Network:

Monday, November 14: Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Awards

Tuesday, November 15: Managers of the Year

Wednesday, November 16: Cy Young Awards

Thursday, November 17: MVP Awards

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button