José Pékerman, the architect of the title

This Sunday, December 18, the Argentine team will seek its third World Cup title when it faces France in the Qatar 2022 final. This match will be Lionel Messi’s last chance to establish himself at the top of football, fulfilling for an end to what Diego Armando Maradona did in Mexico ’86.

The other title for the Albiceleste was in 1978, when that country organized the World Cup and defeated the Netherlands in the final, the same rival they eliminated in the quarterfinals in this 22nd edition of the World Cup. In 1986, led by Maradona, they defeated what was then known as Federal Germany in the title match.

Although Argentina has only two World Cups in the senior category, there is one in which it stands out for its power and supremacy.. This is the U-20 World Cup, in which it is the team with the most championships won with six, two of them achieved under the orders of José Pékerman, who led the Colombian team to Brazil 2014 and Russia 2018.

In the history of football there is a chapter that says that the Argentine team was already champion in Qatar, something that happened in 1995, when they became World Cup champions in that youth category. The final was played on April 28, 1995 at the Khalifa International Stadium, against one of the rivals with the most rivalry in soccer.

That day Argentina and Brazil met on the playing field, a duel that the football world wanted in the Qatar 2022 World Cup and that could not take place due to the elimination of the canarinha in the quarterfinals.

Something curious about that Under-20 tournament on Arab soil, which happened in Qatar 2022, is that Argentina lost one of its matches in the group stage and left his classification to the next round in uncertainty. Fortunately, both teams were able to recover until they reached the final of the World Cup.

Although they are different categories, the feeling for the players can be similar because it is not every day that you are a world champion.

To win that tournament, Argentina defeated Cameroon in the quarterfinals and Spain in the quarterfinals before beating Brazil 2-0 in the final.

José Pékerman was also champion coach with Argentina at the 1997 and 2001 U-20 World Cups. In addition, that youth title was also won by Lionel Messi in 2005.

In the senior category, The World Cup final, to be played by Argentina and France, is scheduled for this Sunday at 10:00 am (Colombian time). at the Lusail Stadium. Before meeting the world champion, on Saturday Croatia and Morocco will face each other at the same time in the game to define the third and fourth place in the World Cup.

These matches, the last of Qatar 2022, can be seen live through DirecTV Sports and all the information will be found at

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button