Draw time, qualified teams, format and everything you need to know about the 2023 Concacaf Champions

The CONCACAF CHAMPIONSHIPS will return recharged and will do so with the participation of three Honduran clubs that will try to represent national football in a good way, just as Olimpia did in the last edition of the Concacaf League.

The draw will take place in the city of Miami, United States, next Monday, November 7, starting at 7:00 p.m. (Honduran time) and it is where Olympia, Motagua Y Royal Spain know your rivals in the round of 16 bracket.

A total of 16 teams will fight to repeat the success of Seattle Soundersfirst eleven of USA to win the title in its latest edition. He did it by defeating Cougars of Mexico.

In total there will be four representatives from the United States, four more from Mexico, three from Honduras, one from Canada, one from Costa Rica, one from El Salvador, one from Panama and one from Haiti. Qualified teams for the 2023 Concachampions

– Qualified teams for the 2023 Concacaf Champions –

– Los Angeles FC, United States

-Philadelphia Union, United States

– Orlando City, United States

-Austin F.C., United States

– Atlas, Mexico

– Leon, Mexico

– Pachuca, Mexico

– Tigers, Mexico

-Vancouver Whitecaps, Canada

– Violette, Haiti

– Royal Spain, Honduras

– Olympia, Honduras

– Motagua, Honduras

– Alajuelense, Costa Rica

– Alliance, El Salvador

– Taurus, Panama

– What is the format of the Concacaf Champions? –

The format will consist of the following: there will be two groups of eight teams divided into two pots, POT1 and POT2. There will also be another drum in which spheres A and B will be, which will correspond to the location of each participant chosen for the round of 16 matches.

The divisions in pots 1 and 2 were established according to the location of the clubs in the 2023 Concachampions ranking, so the three catracho representatives will be in the second.

Pot 1: Vancouver Whitecaps, Atlas, Pachuca, Leon, Los Angeles FC, Orlando City, Philadelphia Union, Austin FC.

Pot 2: Alajuelense, Alianza, Violette AC, Olimpia, Motagua, Real España, Tigres, Taurus.

The draw will start with the random selection of a participant from Pot 2 who will later be assigned a location with some of the options from rank B. Once chosen, the same will be done with the participants from Pot 1 so that set crossovers. Two teams from the same country cannot play each other.

The matches will be played in two rounds, starting the round of 16 between March 7-9, 2023. The quarterfinals will start between April 4-6. Semifinals, between April 25-27, the final being played in two games. The first leg on May 31 and the return on June 4. 2023-2024 format.

– Last edition of this Concacaf Champions –

It should be noted that this will be the last edition with 16 participating clubs, as there will be an expansion in the team list, bringing them to 27, with a competition that will start in the last quarter of next year and is expected to end in mid-2024.

The first round will be a general phase; then, round of 16, quarters, semifinals (all two legs) and subsequent final, which will be a single game with a venue to be defined.

Of the 27 entrants, there will be 22 playing in Phase One and five qualifiers waiting in the next Round of 16. The classification to the first instance will be determined through three zonal tournaments: one in North America, another in Central America and the last one in the Caribbean.

Liga MX, MLS and the Leagues Cup will be held in the North zone. The Central region will have the Copa Centroamericana (the champion will have their direct ticket to the round of 16) and the Caribbean Cup will be played on the islands.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button