discover where and what time to see it – Teach me about Science

This May 12 astronomers will announce something historic

Dear netizens, it is a pleasure to break the news to you that astronomers are about to announce something historic. Those in charge of the project are nothing more and nothing less than those responsible for the first image of a black hole, who will present their innovative results on something from the Milky Way. It will be held through a press conference of the European Southern Observatory (ESO) project and the Event Horizon Telescope (EHT).

The announcement will be made on May 12 at 15:00 CEST (8:00 EST). The chosen venue is the Eridanus Auditorium, ESO Headquarters, Garching bei München, Germany. It will also be viewable online on the ESO YouTube channel. You can see it in the event below.

SCHEDULES BY REGION (Central time of each country, Thursday, May 12):

  • 07:00 am in Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua,
  • 08:00 am in Mexico, Panama, Colombia, Peru and Ecuador
  • 09:00 am in Canada, United States, Bolivia, Chile, Paraguay and Venezuela,
  • 10:00 am in Argentina, Brazil and Uruguay.

According to the ESO, the press release on the results presented on May 12 will be made public shortly after the start of the press conference, at 15:07 CEST or 8:07 am EST. Translations of the press release will be available in several languages, along with extensive audiovisual support material.

You can keep up to date on our social networks where we will be providing a countdown of the event. At the same time, you can visit our astronomy section where we will detail the new EHT results as soon as possible after the announcement.

What is the Event Horizon Telescope (EHT)? The EHT is an international collaboration that has been formed to continue the long-term steady progress in improving the capability of Very Long Baseline Interferometry (VLBI) at short wavelengths in pursuit of this goal. This technique involves linking satellite dishes from around the world to create an interferometer the size of the Earth.

First image of a black hole. On April 10, 2019, scientists published the first image of a black hole, which revealed a bright ring-like structure with a dark central region—the black hole’s shadow. To observe the heart of the galaxy M87 55 million light-years away, the collaboration linked eight telescopes around the world to create a virtual Earth-sized telescope, the EH.

What will they announce this May 12? We suspect that it may be the first image of Sagittarius A*, the supermassive black hole that occupies the center of our own galaxy. We still won’t know exactly what it is until the announcement time comes.

In 2019 it was not possible to photograph Sagittarius A*, the supermassive black hole that rests in the center of the Milky Way, this is mainly because the galactic center has a high density of stars, which overshadows what we can see more there in that direction. Scientists have been hard at work ever since, so this surprise is likely related to that.

Share science, share knowledge.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker