Star Wars: The Updated Timeline Reveals Details About the Heroes of the First Trilogy


An updated timeline of Star Wars contained in the Visual Dictionary of Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker reveals key details of Luke Skywalker, Leia Organa and Han Solo in the years between The Return of the Jedi and The Awakening of the Force. This is some information concerning the main characters of the saga.

The chronology refers to the destruction of the Death Star in A New Hope was first inserted in BBY (Before Battle of Yavin) and is now recorded in BSI (Before Starkiller Incident), citing the moment when the First Order destroyed the Osnian system in The awakening of the Force.

Leia and Han’s son, Ben Solo, was born in Chandrila, home of the Galactic Senate of the New Republic, in 29 BSI. Ten years later, in the same year of Rey’s birth, Luke begins training Ben on the way to the Force.

In 12 BSI, Rey is abandoned on the deserted planet of Jakku and Luke begins to investigate Exegol, the hidden world of the Sith. Thirteen years later, in Skywalker’s Ascent, Rey follows these clues to confront Palpatine’s return. Six years before The Force Awakens, Luke’s Jedi temple is destroyed and the Master vanishes. Ben Solo falls on the dark side and his parents leave. In that same year, Leia was expelled from her political role in the New Republic due to a scandal (it turns out that Leia is the daughter of Darth Vader) and began to form a paramilitary group: the Resistance.

In 5 BSI the worlds begin to separate from the New Republic, forming the political core of the First Order, while its military core secretly grows in unknown regions. In the same year, Leia began the search for her brother Luke.
Abrams talked about Kylo and Rey’s relationship as the book on Episode IX explains Luke’s fate.